hannihanni

Direktlänk till inlägg 6 juli 2015

The beauty of Talking to strangers

Av Hanne Trägårdh - 6 juli 2015 17:22

Hey everyone. Been quite some time since i wrote on My blog. Didnt feel like doing it, or maybe it was more like i was in big denial:)) thought i didnt need to write abt My life becus of the jante lag that exists in this beautiful country Sweden :)) but it turns out that I do have the need to do it so here it goes.
Im sitting on a bench in the harbour in Helsingborg writing down something in My calender when this guy approaches me and asks me in English if The land that we see on the other side of the sea is in fact Denmark. I tell him its true that it is in fact Denmark that we have in front of us (Helsingör). The Guy says to his guy friends that he was right n that they were wrong (they thought it was Sweden) and he asks me (as a joke) if its possible for him to swim over to Denmark ? I say no. That Will take way too long time. One of the other guys asks me if they have to take the train in order to get there and i say no, u can take the ferry and that it Will take them only 20 min going there by Ferry. After joking around for a couple a minutes they leave n say Thank u to me for helping them out.

This little moment that lasted for maximum 7 min or so gave me a reminder how important it is to be friendly to strangers (whether they are from Sweden or not). And how just a little gesture of kindness can change so much for the other person. Especially if they re not from the country and just visiting or maybe if they just moved here for whatever reason.
We Swedes do not really like Talking to people we Dont know. Doesnt matter if its at a party, inside a bus, at a dinner...we feel very uncomfortable doing that cus we have been tought that Talking to strangers is something u shouldnt do cus that Will bother them. But for me its actually the other way around. Ive talked to so strangers that i Cant even count how many times ive done that And not a singel time have i not enjoyed it. Whether the conversation has lasted for 5 minutes or an hour. Ive always left the place a little bit happier n a little bit lighter at heart. So if i feel like that after ending the conversation then it would probably be the same thing for the other person right? So if the other person Feels a bit better (for whatever reason) after Talking to a strange and i feel better by Talking to that stranger then we have made the world as a better place . Thats kinda cool i think. So i think we Swedes should lighter up a bit n let go of that uncomfortableness n just go With the flow n enjoy the conversation With the next stranger that talks to u (of course it depends on the situation , not saying that we should start Talking to ppl that w feel a negative vibe from etc, but u get the picture:)))
I def had a laugh when Talking to these guys so Thank u Thank u Thank u guys for liftning My spirit :)) ????
Lots of love,
Hanni

 

Från
    Kom ihåg mig
URL

Säkerhetskod
   Spamskydd  

Kommentar

Av Hanne Trägårdh - 7 augusti 2015 16:55

              It was my birthday 2 days ago and ive always loved my birthday. ive always looooved celebrating my bday, cus,1 its the best day of the year (whatelse could it be?) and 2, my day is in the summer so everyone´s (well almost ev...

Av Hanne Trägårdh - 21 juli 2015 18:17

yday in the afternoon i went to Helsingorg and and went up to Kärnan which is a big tower situated up on a hill in the center. have actually never been there before despite the fact that Helsingborg has been my "summer town" since I was about 5 years...

Av Hanne Trägårdh - 17 juli 2015 17:59

ok, so ive started making made up stories when i sit at cafés. i wanted to find a cool way to describe cafés and coffee etc and one way to make it more alive was to make up stories about the ppl sitting the same café as me (poor guys...they had nooo ...

Av Hanne Trägårdh - 17 juli 2015 17:13

at a cafe in barcelona couple of weeks ago:   A Spanish couple sitting next to me, a young couple. around late 20s. she's skinny skinny, cute brunette, hes …well kinda big. don't see how ppl can be attracted when they look so different but...

Av Hanne Trägårdh - 17 juli 2015 16:20

ive been thinking lately alot about guy and relationships and singlehood etc. how it seem to work for man ppl and well everything about it really. i ve dated alot of ifferent kinds of guys. it started with my first boyfriend at the age of 16. we were...

Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards